Adam Fisher, who is currently writing a book about London Transport, recently enquired in a previous post about an epic Country Bus marathon undertaken by pupils from Cray Valley. He has kindly revised his text which now follows this quick introduction.

Hello everyone.

I am writing about London transport and wish to know about something that Cray Valley pupils undertook in 1966.

The article below (Sidcup & Kentish Times, Friday 10 June 1966) states that Leslie Burwood and other students were to attempt the record for London country bus travel, which stood at 17 hours and 35 minutes. It apparently took place the following day, Saturday 11 June.

I have been informed that the purpose of this activity was to essentially orbit what would now be Greater London via the furthest outward points. I would be grateful if this can be confirmed, and if anyone can tell me more about the specifics of it. What exactly did participants do? How was it verified? How popular was it? Did any readers who are former pupils try this, or know anyone who did?

As has been mentioned, the organiser Les also attempted the London Underground record, as did Paul Meddemmen and Robert Tooze. I am also interested in how this worked then, with none of today’s technology. Does anyone have any memories of Les and the activity from that time? I wish to know what he was like – the type of person who would do this. From what I understand, he was very involved and took it extremely seriously.

If anyone has any information, please post it here or you are welcome to contact me directly at directionoftravel@gmail.com. I look forward to learning more about this.

Yours faithfully,

Adam Fisher

****

Sidcup & Kentish Times, Friday 10 June 1966

THEY AIM TO BEAT THE BEST

Boys from Cray Valley Technical High School will try this Saturday to beat the record for a day’s London Transport country bus travel with 6s Green Rover tickets. Starting from Market Street, Dartford, at about 9am, their route will take them as far out as Harlow, St Albans, Uxbridge and Sevenoaks. The rules permit them to use only country buses, except between Romford and Brentwood where the party must, of course, travel by Green Line coach.

The present record, held by some other pupils of Cray Valley, stands at 17 hours 35 minutes, and has not been broken since last year. But Saturday’s party hope to reduce it by three hours.

Leslie Burwood, aged 17, is the organiser of this record-breaking attempt, and has spent many hours poring over timetables. In August the boys will try to break the record for travelling round all the London Underground stations, having had a successful practice trip in April. 

About karismadesign

Ken is a brand graphic designer and photographer based near Canterbury in Kent. He has worked in the graphic communications business for many years and has run his design and print business for the last 17 years. Working with global, national and local clients, Ken has all the expertise and experience needed to help to turn your graphic requirements into a practical reality.

2 responses »

  1. John Scragg says:

    Unfortunately I left CVTS at the end of 1961 and completed my schooling in Tanganyika where my father was posted (to the British High Commission). But my life long interest in buses was kindled by others on my daily commute on the 51B from Orpington Station (after a train ride from Petts Wood and ride on the 94 from Southborough). I started in 1958 touring London mainly using Red Rovers (particularly focusing on the trolleybuses) but ventured into Country Bus territory later that year using a Green Rover and commencing with a ride on the 410 on an RLH to Reigate. I viewed the LT collection of preserved buses in Reigate garage before I was thrown out. I also visited Kingston by 406, Leatherhead, Chelsham by 403, and Oxted (using the Green Line). I may have been standing at the wrong stop for the 410 there and eventually got a GS to Westerham and then a 410 to Bromley Common. By this time it was late (9 or 10pm?) and my parents had reported me missing! I would have done better to have taken the 119 from Croydon to Bromley even if a had to pay another fare. I returned to UK in 1964 to attend the London School of Economics and since then have spent many Saturdays (and other days) exploring the country bus network. I lived in Farnham – and during two university summer breaks worked as a bus conductor with Aldershot & District. I was conducting in the evening in 1966 when the football World Cup finals were on and was in Guildford (working on the 30 Onslow Village and 31 Farnham routes) when England was playing Portugal and later listened on my radio to the final v Germany when working on Aldershot town routes to North Town. I now live in Chippenham but often visit London which is only an hour or so away by train. Sorry not to provide anything further on the Cray Valley marathons but hope this will be of interest!

    Like

    • adrian1111111111 says:

      Hello John, I found you account very interesting especially as I have lived all my life in the same rented house near Bromley Common, I too remember the green 410 bus plus the 94 bus. Lat year TfL had one of their vintage days and I went on a 94 bus plus other classic ones !

      Like

Please leave your comments here (play nicely)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.