An apology and some sad news for you all.
A few weeks ago Norman Baldwin, our colleague on the blog, kindly contacted me with the sad news that the teaching legend Reg Wincott passed away on 28th October and his funeral was on 23rd November at Fairlight, Hastings. I am sorry to say that having been involved in a personal accident at that time I did not in fact remember to pass the information on to all. For this I do apologise.
Many of you will I know have memories of Reg Wincott and of course they are always welcome here on the blog.

About karismadesign

Ken is a brand graphic designer and photographer based near Canterbury in Kent. He has worked in the graphic communications business for many years and has run his design and print business for the last 17 years. Working with global, national and local clients, Ken has all the expertise and experience needed to help to turn your graphic requirements into a practical reality.

8 responses »

  1. Adrian Appley says:

    I well remember Mr. Wincott and was saddened to hear of his passing. Rest in peace fine gentleman.

    Like

  2. cvtsboy says:

    Sad news

    Like

  3. cvtsboy says:

    He came in our second year. 1955. Taught us Technical Drawing.

    Like

  4. Peter Martin-Smith says:

    Reg Wincott was probably my favourite teacher… certainly woodwork is a hobby which has stayed with me throughout my life. About 8 or 9 years ago, having discovered that Reg lived just along the south coast from Eastbourne, I made contact with him, and he and his wife invited me and my wife for tea. We were made so welcome and enjoyed much reminiscing. After tea he showed me his workshop, his many woodwork projects, and his store of unused, recycled wood. If ever I needed any seasoned oak, teak or mahogany, I could have whatever I wanted, he invited. A few years passed by and I always intended to make contact again. Then Covid and Lockdown… and now Reg is gone! So sad. He was a great teacher and a true gentleman.

    Like

  5. Anthony F Carder says:

    That’s very sad news.
    In my first technical drawing lesson Mr Wincott instructed us to write out “beware my son of good enough it isn’t made of sterling stuff “! – such good advice!
    He taught me how to use tools properly and I always remember him telling me to “let the saw do the work” – something I’ve always remembered.
    A great woodwork teacher. R I P

    Anthony Carder CVTS 1955- 1960

    Like

  6. David Hewick says:

    Thanks for the sad news. I was at CVTS 1954-1961and therefore at the start of the school. I was lucky to get in as it was academically excellent. I was in the same year as Bob Kingsland (sadly no longer with us). Unfortunately, I was unable to get to any of the reunions but I did meet up with Tony Bradley (history master) a few times before the pandemic. I also manage to get down to London several times a year to have enjoyable pub lunches with my classmates (fellow 80 year olds) Bob Townsend and Brian Weller. I don’t remember Reg Wincott, perhaps because I was not very good at woodwork, or any form of DIY (I failed my O-Level Technical Drawing). However, I did get on with Mr Davies who I think liked me in spite of my lack of ability.

    Best regards,

    David Hewick

    17 Davidson Street

    Broughty Ferry

    Dundee DD5 3AT

    Tel 01382 774288

      07843 185511 
    

    >

    Like

  7. Roger Diamond says:

    RIP Reg Wincott… all I remember about the dear chap was ‘Whistling Willie’ a cane he would whack us with, just for being there.

    Like

Please leave your comments here (play nicely)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.